
 
 
 

2025 PGA TOUR Q-School presented by Korn Ferry  
FAQ 

 
Competition 
 
Q: Do I need a caddie? 
 
At Pre-Qualifying, First and Second Stage, caddies are not required. At Final Stage, caddies are required during 
official practice and competition rounds. 
 
Q: Can I wear shorts during competition rounds? 
 
Golf shorts may only be worn during practice rounds for players competing in Pre-Qualifying, First, Second and 
Final Stage. Caddies may wear solid neutral-colored trousers or solid neutral colored tailored knee-length shorts 
during any round for any stage.  
 
Q: Can I use a distance-measuring device? 
 
For play in Pre-Qualifying, First and Second Qualifying Stage, a player may obtain distance information by use of a 
distance-measuring device.  If during the round, a player uses a distance-measuring device to gauge or measure 
other conditions that might affect his play (e.g., elevation changes, wind speed, etc.) the player is in breach of Rule 
4.3a. For play in the Final Qualifying Stage, Model Local Rule G-5 is in effect and Rule 4.3a (1) is modified as follows:  
During a round, a player must not obtain distance information by using an electronic distance-measuring device.  
 
Q: Can I use Greens Reading Material? 
 
For play in Pre-Qualifying, First and Second Qualifying Stage, Model Local Rule G-11 is NOT in effect. For play in the 
Final Qualifying Stage, Model Local Rule G-11 is in effect, a 2023, 2024 or 2025 PGA TOUR Rules Committee approved 
yardage book will be the only book(s) permitted for use during the competition.   
 
Q: What is the Pre-Qualifying Stage additional fee? How will it be charged? 
 
A player upon successfully Pre-Qualifying must pay an additional payment of $3,000 (in addition to the Pre-
Qualifying entry fee) to be eligible to compete in First Stage. This payment will be automatically charged to the 
credit card on file on the Saturday immediately following the completion of the player’s Pre-Qualifying site. Please 
refer to the 2025 PGA TOUR Q-School Rules and Regulations for further details.  
 
Q: What is the total cost of fees if I start from the Pre-Qualifying Stage and advance all the way to Final Stage? 
 
A player starting from the Pre-Qualifying Stage would pay an initial entry fee of $3,000 and pay the additional fee 
of $3,000 if advancing to First Stage. The total of $6,000 would cover the player for the entirety of PGA TOUR Q-
School, should he keep advancing through the subsequent stages. 



 
Q: How can I play a practice round outside of the allotted practice round days? 
 
Practice before the designated times must be set up with the course in advance by the player. Fees and facility 
availability are at the discretion of the host facility.  
 
Q: I have successfully advanced through the Pre-Qualifying Stage. When will I know which site I’ve been 
assigned for First Stage? 
 
Successful qualifiers will be notified of their site assignments for the subsequent stage after every site has been 
completed for the qualifying stage. The player will be notified by e-mail in the address provided in the Application 
to Enter.  
 
 

Amateur Status 
 
Q: Can I change my professional status during the PGA TOUR Q-School season? 
 
Yes. A player may change his professional status at any time, provided he is not actively competing in a stage. For 
example, a player can compete as an amateur in the Pre-Qualifying Stage and turn professional before the First 
Stage, should he advance. 
 
Q: Can I play as an amateur in Final Stage?  
 
Yes. A player may play as an amateur through Final Stage. However, an amateur competing in Final Stage is not 
eligible to earn any Prize Money. Also, if the player earns status on any of the Tours (PGA TOUR, Korn Ferry Tour or 
PGA TOUR Americas) following the completion of any stage, the player must turn professional to take up 
membership.  
 
 
Q: I currently hold a status of “amateur awaiting reinstatement”. What would be my playing status if I complete 
in PGA TOUR Q-School during that waiting period until my amateur status becomes final? 
 
A player can only compete as an amateur or professional for PGA TOUR Q-School. Until the amateur status is 
finalized, the player will be considered a professional.  
 
Q: I have just earned PGA Tour of Australasia membership, but I would like to remain an amateur for the 
summer and take up Membership when the PGA TOUR of Australasia season starts in December. Can I still 
register for PGA TOUR Q-School First Stage using the PGA TOUR of Australasia membership exemption and turn 
professional later? 
 
No. A player is considered a professional upon accepting membership on any of our Tours (PGA TOUR, Korn Ferry 
Tour, PGA TOUR Americas) or the applicable Tours under the PGA TOUR Q-School exemptions (JGTO, KPGA, DPWT, 
Challenge Tour, PGA TOUR of Australasia, Sunshine Tour). To remain an amateur, a player must decline any 
membership associated with the Q-School exemption or forfeit the membership benefit, such as exemption to 
First Stage.  
 
 

 
 


